top of page

What is Love?


Love.

Where do I begin? That one little word means so much. I could discuss different kinds of love. I could write about the ways it is interpreted by our culture or cultures around the world. I could talk about the way love has been twisted to fit our human ideas. I could write about the countless things people love, the ways we show try to show love, the ways we fall short.

Or, I could try to describe it - yet everyone describes it differently. How do I describe love without getting tangled up in all kinds of topics that only scratch the surface?

Very simply. With one word, actually.

Love = God.

1 Corinthians 13 describes what real love is. And everything that describes love, describes God.

1. He is patient, bears all things, suffers long, and perseveres

"I was ready to be sought by those who did not ask for me; I was ready to be found by those who did not seek me. I said, “Here I am, here I am,” to a nation that was not called by my name. I spread out my hands all the day to a rebellious people, who walk in a way that is not good, following their own devices; a people who provoke me to my face continually."

- Isaiah 65:1-3a

From the first people every created, to the Israelites, to Jesus' disciples, to believers throughout history, to you and me today - God is patient with sinners! He extends his patience even to those who hate him and mercifully waits to judge them.

2. He is kind

"But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy."

- Titus 3:4-5

What is more kind than allowing a sinner like me and millions more beside me to receive the rich gift of eternal life?

3. He did not parade itself, was not self-seeking, was not proud, did not boast

"Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross."

- Philippians 2:5-8

Though God rightfully proclaims his greatness throughout the Bible, something even more awe-inspiring is that he was also humble when he came to earth. He deserved riches, honor, and everything in the world. He was poorer than kings, than the Jewish religious leaders, and probably even his own disciples. Nevertheless, he did not envy the riches of this world. Instead, he remained humble and focused on doing his Father's will!

So when God declares his power and glory, it doesn't fit into the category of "proud" or "boastful." It is his rightful due!

4. He is not easily angered.

"Rend your heart and not your garments. Return to the Lord your God, for he is gracious and compassionate,slow to anger and abounding in love, and he relents from sending calamity."

- Joel 2:13

And thank goodness, because I've given him every reason to be angry with me!

5. He does not delight in evil, but rejoices in the truth

"For the LORD is righteous, he loves justice; the upright will see his face."

- Psalm 11:7

How wonderful to remember that God delights in truth, and His truth will conquer all in the end!

6. He gives us hope

"For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future."

- Jeremiah 29:11

Without God, I would have no hope. I would be lost in darkness, sin, and despair. He sent Jesus to die on the cross and break every chain that bound me. I have a future in him, and him alone - to live for his glory!

7. He loves his enemies

"You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly. Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous person, though for a good person someone might possibly dare to die. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us."

- Romans 5:6-8

Even the people close to me, whom I claim to "love," can make me angry, frustrated, and resentful. I can't imagine trying to love someone who I hated - or worse, who hated me! Yet Christ died for me...while I was still shaking my fist at him in hatred.

8. He keeps no record of wrongs

"You will again have compassion on us; you will tread our sins underfoot and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.

As far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us."

- Micah 7:19, Psalm 103:12

What a glorious promise for those who believe! Despite all we have done, he keeps no record of it. It is all wiped away by the precious blood of Jesus.

9. His love always protects us

"He guards the course of the just and protects the way of his faithful ones."

- Proverbs 2:8

One time, I remember reading about atrocities that had been committed in another part of the world, and a cold fear had swept over me. Then God's Spirit suddenly warmed my soul again and I remembered the promise in John 1:5 - "The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it." It was then that I realized that no matter how dark this world gets, God's light in me can never be dimmed - even if I die. I had never felt so safe and happy in my whole life.

10. His love will never fail!

"The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness."

- Lamentations 3:22-23

When we are in heaven, we will not need faith or hope, because we will be with the One we had faith in and hoped for!

Yet love will remain. Everyone will be full of love, and love for our wonderful God.

 

What better day than Valentine's Day to celebrate the greatest Love of all? And because God is love, we can't love without Him.

"Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love." - 1 John 4:8

Think about God and let your soul be loved - perfectly.

bottom of page